PromotionsApproved UsedVans & PickupsMotability

Commercial Vehicle Classifications and License Requirements

M1 (Mother 1) : Passenger Vehicle for ≤ 8 passengers

  • Category B1 License (up to 8 seats) or higher


M2 (Mother 2):  Passenger vehicle for > 8 passengers & < 5000kg maximum mass. (Bus M2 = 11-17 seat vehicles, vehicles with ≥ 18 seats are a coach)

  • Category D1 License (up to 16 passenger seats + Driver Seat) / Category D License (> 16 Passenger seats + Driver Seat) Limited to 62 mph


CDV: Car Derived Van

  • Category B1 License or higher


ISV: Integrated Style Van (Courier & Connect)

  • Category B1 License or higher


MCV: Medium Commercial Vehicle (GVM must be ≤ 3500kg)

  • Category B1 License or higher


N1 (Nelly 1): GVM ≤ 3500kg (Courier, Connect, Customer & Transit)

  • Category B1 License or higher


N2 (Nelly 2): GVM > 3500kg < 12000kg (470 Transit & Chassis)

  • Category C1 License or higher


HCV: Heavy Commercial Vehicle GVM > 3500kg < 12000kg (470 Transit & Chassis)

  • Category C1 License or higher (limited to 56 mph)


Ford Motor Company Limited uses cookies and similar technologies on this website to improve your online experience and to show tailored advertising to you.

You can manage cookies at any time on the Manage Cookie Settings page but this may limit or prevent use of certain features on the website.

Please see the website privacy and cookie policy  for further information.