Home > Owner > Resources & Support > How To Videos > Owner Services > How to perform a master reset in FordPass

How to perform a master reset in FordPass

If you want to remove your vehicle from associated FordPass Accounts, you’ll have to perform a master reset. Watch this video to see how.

Ford S-MAX side view

We recommend you perform a master reset if you’re planning on selling your vehicle, bought a used Ford privately, or if you need to remove your vehicle from another FordPass account. Here’s how to do it:

• For vehicles with SYNC 3, start by going to the Settings tab.

• Select ‘General’.

• Then scroll down and tap ‘Reset’.

• And finally, tap ‘Master reset’.

• You’ll be asked to confirm. 

• Check your phone is disconnected, then tap ‘Continue’.

• The reset will take a few minutes while your vehicle connects to the network.

• When the screen restarts, you'll be asked if you'd like to connect your car. 

• Select 'Yes.'

• Your master reset is now complete, and you can set up FordPass with your vehicle.

If you have an older version of SYNC, the process is a little different. Here’s how to perform a master reset on an older version of SYNC:

• First, press the Settings button.

• Then use the dial to select ‘General’.

• Scroll down to select ‘Master Reset’.

• You’ll be asked to confirm. Select ‘Continue’.

• The reset will take a few minutes while your vehicle connects to the network.

• When the screen restarts, you'll be asked if you'd like to connect your car. 

• Select 'Yes.’

• Your master reset is now complete, and you can set up FordPass with your vehicle.

If you don’t know how to activate your FordPass Connect modem, you can watch our separate How-To video.

If there’s anything you’re not sure about, you can simply contact your Ford Dealer. 

And if you find this video useful, check out the others in our ‘How to…’ series: it’s designed to help you make best use of both FordPass and FordPass Connect. "

Top